mysemiorganizedlife

Just another WordPress.com site

Quick Tips–Got 5-10 minutes?

on July 2, 2013

As we head into a holiday week, I figured I’d get next weekend’s post out of the way–or I would run out of time with everything else we have going on.  So, here are three quick tips you can tackle in 5 to 10 minutes.

Quick Tip #1

Do you HATE folding socks?  I do.  And, it was always hit or miss that I would get socks that actually could be paired at the end of a dryer cycle.  To combat this pesky problem, I adapted a tip I saw on Pinterest (can’t remember where… Sorry!).  The blog I read suggested giving each member of the family a lingerie bag to hang on the back of their door to stow their socks in after wearing.  At laundry time, the bag is zipped and thrown in the washing machine, thus keeping all the pairs neatly together.  What a fabulous idea!  My family isn’t really big enough for each of us to have our own bags, and I am loathe to hang anything on our doors.  Instead, I attached small flatish command hooks to the back of my plastic hamper (which my daughter and I currently share).  I simply hang our lingerie bag from the command hooks on the back–and you can’t even see it!  We both know to put our socks in the bag after wearing, and I have LOVED being able to match socks so easily.

Quick Tip #2

Tighten your seats!  Take 5-10 minutes and tighten the seats in your house.  You will be amazed at how much more secure you feel instead of cringing every time you feel your dining room chair wobble or the toilet seat shift sideways.  Simply find any seated surface in your house that may require a tune-up–dining room chairs, desk chairs, toilet seats, lawn chairs, etc.  Find the nuts or screws that are holding the seat or legs in place and give them a turn or two until tight.

Quick Tips #3

Make adjustments to any organization systems that are not 100% helpful.  I know this seems crazy, but so many times we struggle on because we don’t want to admit what we tried isn’t working 100% or we don’t want to take the time to make adjustments to something that is sort of working.  Forget that!  The whole point of an organization system is to give you more time and less stress.  So, how do you tell if your system needs a fix.  Check your level of annoyance when completing a task.  Are you constantly bugged by some part of the process?  Do you dread completing a task just because of one small step?  (If it is the whole thing that bugs you–then you’re going to need a major overhaul that will take more than 10 minutes–this is simply for minor adjustments).  If so, your process may need a tweak.  Take 5 minutes and mentally go through a system you have in place.  Think about how you feel when following that system or completing that task.  Determine if you need to make a small change–and then make it!

For example, I have a box I keep to shred documents in.  I take them to a shredding service–because I HATE shredding.  I am happy to pay the little bit of money (or even take time to attend free shred events) for someone else to do it.  I at one time kept this box in the basement.  Which meant I had to walk down to the basement to dispose of items needing shredding–which meant that junk mail tended to pile up in various places around our house.  I realized keeping the box in the basement made no sense.  Instead, I moved it to a hidden space near our door of entry.  Now, I can put any mail items needing shredding straight in the box when I come in the door.  And, I can easily deposit other shredding items without going down another set of stairs–this may not seem like a big deal, but it was for me.  That extra flight of stairs was messing up my paper clutter control.  Moving the box took less than a minute and has definitely saved me time and stress.

Another example is when I came to realize that purchasing an extra toilet brush saved me a headache every time I cleaned the bathrooms.  Following my established cleaning schedule, I clean the bathrooms every Tuesday.  And every Tuesday, I would race to keep water from dripping from the brush holder from one bathroom to the next.  It bugged me so much that I would sometimes clean the other bathroom on a different day just to avoid the toilet brush hassle–throwing off my carefully thought out cleaning plan.  It made WAY more sense to spend the few dollars and just have a brush in each bathroom–and it’s much more sanitary.  In addition, I am also less prone to leave the toilet wash solution in the bowl for too long, because the brush is right there and easy to use.

Not sure why I didn’t think of these things sooner, but organization is an ongoing process and really is trial and error.  Sometimes you have to live with and try something for a while to realize what is and is not working.  You just have to willing to take the time to adjust if needed.

Do you have any quick 5-10 minute tips?  Let us know!

Leave a Reply

