mysemiorganizedlife

Just another WordPress.com site

Let’s Discuss Drawers…

on November 9, 2013

Over the past few weeks, it has been incredibly busy around our house.  The fall months usher in tons of activities, work commitments, and time snuggling under blankets eating popcorn and watching movies.  This doesn’t leave a whole lot of time for organizing projects.  But, I did make an effort to tackle some of the areas around our home that bug the heck out of me.  Specifically, this week, let’s talk drawers.

I am pretty sure I know exactly why the drawers needed some love and attention.  While it is pretty easy to realize you need to attack clutter when it is on the counter top, table, or top of your desk, the drawers are often out of sight out of mind.  Plus, it is way to easy to just dump something in one without really putting it away, because you won’t see the mess you just made (or the mess that will appear after you do this five to ten more times).  Last January, I made a major push and went through and organized and purged most of the spaces in our home–which included the drawers.

I did this so quickly that I didn’t really stop to think about the purpose of each space.  I just got rid of the junk and stuff that didn’t belong in that room, made it look tidy, and called it a day.  The result 9 months later is drawers that are once again a tangled mess and somewhat frustrating to use.  Without even planning it, about once a week I have tackled a drawer in a different room in our house that has absolutely been driving me nuts.  What I love about these types of projects is that they are quick (usually 20 minutes or less) and the end result is so satisfying.

One of the biggest problems with each of these spaces is I didn’t really think about what each drawer was used for before I planned out what I wanted to be in them.  My first task was to give each drawer a purpose.  Second, once again purge the junk and stuff that didn’t fit with the drawer’s new purpose.  Third, logically organize the contents that were left over (and make it look lovely if possible).  And finally, make the commitment to not dump and run ever again (or at least not very often).

So which drawers did I tackle?

1)  Drawers in our entry way table.  These drawers are in a small table just as you enter from our garage (which is our main point of entry) and the place where my purse, charging station, and hubby’s keys and mail reside.  The drawers were a mess, because they really had no function at all.  They seemed to become a catchall for electronic accessories and related items.  (I thought about where I went to search for things--Tip #2 on my top 7 Organizing tips).  So, the two drawers were given a purpose with that in mind.  One drawer is now home to our batteries and the other to accessories for cell phones and tablets.

Batteries are now easy to find and all in one place!

Batteries are now easy to find and all in one place!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2)  My sock and underwear drawers.  I was able to purchase some awesome divider boxes from Ikea when I was on vacation (I love Ikea and wish we had one nearer to us) that worked for a while, but again, I didn’t really think about what I had in the drawer before shoving everything in.  Mainly, I tried to fit things in compartments too small for them or had ones that were left with extra room.  This was basically a purge of the never used or old stuff and a rearrangement of what’s inside.  Below is a pic of the sock drawer (not much different from a pic I took in January).  What I realized was that I had tried to give this drawer too many purposes by adding some extra stuff where the white socks now live.  This caused all of the socks to be in a chaotic tumble.  Now this drawer has a specific purpose, I’m definitely happier!  The other drawer is a huge change, but I passed on posting pics of my undies.

After...  Not a huge difference, but has been a big one to me!

After… This is not a big change, but it really has made a difference for me in finding what I need.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3)  My night table drawers.  This one was pretty fun and made me realize my night table was a huge dumping ground for stuff I didn’t know what to do with.  About half of the items in here were removed, and I left only the essential items behind.  I really thought about the purpose of my night table drawers–what I really wanted them for was to keep the clutter off of the top by the lamp.  (The only things up there are my lamp, current book I am reading, and my magazine holder).  Having that clean space just makes me feel calm.  So, most of the other items were removed and I am left with books to read, sleep masks, notebook and pens to jot down ideas, jewelry I don’t wear very much if ever but can’t part with, and various hand creams.  The bottoms of the drawers looked a  little yucky and boring, so I borrowed  a page from many other online organizers and made my first attempt at using wrapping paper as drawer liner.  It looks so cheerful and happy!  It doesn’t match anything in our bedroom, but I don’t care.  Who ever goes in those drawers but me?  I lucked out and had this pretty flowered Flavia paper I bought from my daughter’s school fundraiser, and it was even double sided.  I did use the turquoise pattern as well on the inside of a shoe box lid where the jewelry boxes and some other items now live.  YEAH!

The top drawer now houses all my sleepy time aids and my books waiting to be read.

The top drawer now houses all my sleepy time aids and my books waiting to be read.

The bottom drawer holds some other items I like to keep handy but don't need to access all the time.

The bottom drawer holds some other items I like to keep handy but don’t need to access all the time.

 

4)  Narrow drawers.  I have three narrow drawers in my life that get messy because they are so small.  At least that is my guess.  Two live in my bathroom and hold hair and tooth brushing accessories (among other things I found) and one is the “junk” drawer in our kitchen that holds pens, scissors, tape, etc.  I had previously organized each of these, but tip #7 from my top 7 was staring me in the face.  Sometimes you have to realize you may need to make changes because what was working before or what you thought would work really doesn’t anymore.  And, I thought enough ahead of time to do before and after pictures!  Yeah!  For these, I just gave each a specific purpose and removed all the excess.

Bathroom Drawer 1–Hair related items

Before...  Too much random stuff in this drawer made it hard to find anything.

Before… Too much random stuff in this drawer made it hard to find anything.

After...  Now home to only hair related items, and the basket is up front and won't slide to the back anymore.

After… Now home to only hair related items, and the basket is up front and won’t slide to the back anymore.  What you can’t see is the back end of this drawer behind the brushes.  That was home to the “mess” and now holds stretchy headbands.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bathroom Drawer 2–Teeth cleaning and daily medicine/vitamin storage.

Before...  This drawer was a mess!  I may add  laminated pretty paper to these bathroom drawers to help with the ick that collects.

Before… This drawer was a mess! I may add laminated pretty paper to these bathroom drawers to help with the ick that collects.

After...  Just what needs to be there.

After… Just what needs to be there.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Kitchen “Junk” drawer turned supply drawer!

This is the biggest mess usually.  I really dumped quite a bit out of here and kept what I seemed to seek out here most.

This is the biggest mess usually. I really dumped quite a bit out of here and kept what I seemed to seek out here most.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Have you ever tackled small projects that gave you big results?  I was amazed at how happy I felt after completing each of these!

One response to “Let’s Discuss Drawers…

  1. […] covers our storage closet and the drop zone of the kiddo after school.  I also tackled some of our problem drawers this fall and am very happy with the results.  I am still loving the wrapping paper lining the […]

Leave a Reply

