mysemiorganizedlife

Just another WordPress.com site

Goals for 2014!

on December 29, 2013

2014The year 2014 is nearly upon us–just a few more days to go.  And, I, like many people around the country (and probably the world) have been reflecting on the year that has passed and looking forward to the year to come.  Over the past year I have made some changes in my life both big and small and have made some accomplishments that make me feel proud.  The biggest change is that I took a leap and accepted a new position within my school district in a co-team-leader type position.  I really hadn’t thought about changing jobs, but I am glad I took the plunge.  This job lets me use all of my skill sets well, and I get to work with amazing people.  I also tackled some personal goals I have been wanting to achieve–with the help of NaNoWriMo, I wrote and finished my first novel!  I also took my very first digital photography course–something I’ve wanted to do for ages to help me learn how to better use my camera.  My daughter started kindergarten–big kid school!–and we’ve all had a fairly good adjustment to her new schedule and celebrated some big milestones like losing her first teeth, first holiday program, and being a girl scout.  My husband graduated from grad school and immediately took on the challenge of a doctoral program and has taken on some big work challenges this school year as well.  It seems like our whole family has been moving at lightning speed this fall and have all undergone some significant life changes.  What a year!  It’s so good to look aback and see what we’ve accomplished, and also to look forward to see what goals I’d like to tackle for this upcoming calendar year. (This post is a little longer–hope you stick with me!)

I’m not big on resolutions, because as I read somewhere, they are pretty easy to break and most people forget about or give up on them pretty early on.  I am walking proof.  So, instead I have decided to set goals.  These are mostly measurable items that I can track and easily say I have done or not done.  I found that if I am specific and hold myself accountable by keeping track of my progress, I am much more likely to follow through on things I want for myself.  I am still working on the tracking system, as I am debating on a paper system or an online system.  There are merits to both.  Once I make a decision, I’ll share.

Once I started writing down my goals, I realized I could easily organize them into categories (go figure).  I also searched around on Pinterest to see what other people had done for goal sheets and decided to make mine somewhat fancy without going overboard.  I simply inserted shapes into a word document, changed their color, added text boxes, and voila!

My 2014 Goals List!

My 2014 Goals List!

Let’s look at each of the categories for moment.

1)  Family.  Really I just want to be more present, be more loving, and really listen to people around me.  It seems like we move at break neck speed all of the time, and we are constantly focused on what’s coming next without really enjoying the here and now.  I hope to slow down, and seek the joy.  Listening is also a huge goal for me.  I mentioned in another post that I am trying really hard to listen to what my daughter wants to do.  Instead of throwing  her into dance and swim lessons and girls scouts and whatever else comes our way, I asked what she really wanted to do.  She wants to keep doing girl scouts and wants to take a craft class and have time to play at home.  Since there weren’t really any affordable options for kids craft classes (outside of the ones at Michael’s), I chatted with some friends, and we ‘re going to get together once a month for craft time!  A little work on my end, but a big reward for my kiddo and a great excuse to see our friends.  Also in the listening department, I need to do a better job of keeping my lips zipped when others are talking.  My biggest problem is that I jump in too soon trying to solve a problem or finish someone’s idea that I don’t actually let them finish.  This drives some people that I love dearly a bit crazy.  It’s a fault I am aware of, and it is my goal this year to work really hard on focusing and listening (which is amazing, because I ask my daughter to do that all the time!)

2)  Personal.  I want to be less attached to my smartphone–I don’t need to be connected all of the time.  I’m going to set some limits for myself, so that I can really be more “in the moment.”  I also want to read more things that I enjoy.  I branched out this year and read more non-fiction than I have in years and really enjoyed it.  I hope to continue that and add on by finding new blogs and websites to read as well.  I want to keep my life-long-learning going and practice the skills I learned in my photography class and search out some other online or in person classes to take.  A class to learn how to use my sewing machine would be really nice.  I read somewhere (sorry can’t remember where) a post someone wrote about how resolutions don’t work–and therefore she set the goal to try one new thing a month.  I LOVE that goal.  I also hope to try one new thing a month, whether it’s a new recipe, a new color of nail polish, a new class, whatever!  That kind of change can be exciting.  And finally, I want to spend more time with my friends.  We rush and rush and are all so busy, we never seem to have time to see or talk to each other.  I’m hoping that I can change that and see my friends  a bit more often–and I really want to make time for one of my best friends who I haven’t seen in a few years (and she only lives 3 hours away–SHAME ON ME!).

3)  Writing.  I enjoy writing and want to make sure I make the time to do it and have a focus on it.  My writing goals are pretty clear, but the big one I want to really make certain I do is to journal.  I have a journal I keep for my daughter that I haven’t written in since she started kindergarten (crazy, crazy fall semester).  I am going to get caught up and write in it at least once a week from now on.  Also, I plan to keep a one sentence journal where I write down one sentence that sums up my thoughts every day.  Another fun sort of journal project is the photo a day.  This should be pretty easy for me (and a great way to practice my camera skills).  At the end of the year, I want to put them all in a photo book.  And, finally, I have heard of the jar you keep with slips of paper in it for things that happened during the year and then on New Year’s Eve you read all of them.  Love this idea, but I think we’re not going to write one for every day, just for the bigger stuff like lost teeth, last day of kindergarten, birthday parties, etc.

4)  Health.  I need to be healthier–for me and my family.  Long story short, I have a bad knee to due to a car accident (not my fault) and have had trouble doing my normal exercising which has led to weight gain which is in turn even more bad news for my knee.  Grrr.  I created a list of knee friendly exercises, and every morning (at least 5 days a week) I will roll out of bed and start my day off right.  Which is why I need to go to bed on time so I have the energy to be active and eat healthier.  I also plan to track my progress to hold myself more accountable.

5)  My professional goals are not that exciting for anyone but me. I plan to continue some outside committee work and make some changes in my new position.

6)  Organization.  I am pretty happy with what I put in place this year.  I just need to revisit those areas, make sure they are working well, and strive to maintain the order I have put in place.  If I get more sleep and am more active, I’m hoping I will be less likely to let things slide.  Another huge thing is to actually stick to our routines.  Look for more on this next week.  Since our house is smaller and I’ve tackled quite a bit of it, I don’t feel a huge urge to organize everything like I did the past two years.  I do plan though to try and do an organizing project every month–some big, some small.  I’d really like to make my laundry room a little prettier, and I need to figure out some storage solutions for our living room or starters.  Also, I signed up to do a 10 week organizing challenge which will be so much fun (and something new!).  If you want to join, here’s the link http://freshlyorganized.com/10-week-organizing-challenge/

10week

There it is folks, in black and white (and a bunch of other colors)–my goals for 2014.  I’ve share them with you and now I can’t abandon them.  Tracking my progress and quick updates here will keep me in line, I hope.   I am very excited for 2014.  Here’s to a wonderful New Year!

What big plans or goals do you have set for 2014?

4 responses to “Goals for 2014!

  1. Great blog and thanks for mentioning our challenge!

  2. […] here is how I am doing on my 2014 goals!  In case you missed the first post and are interested, you can read it here, or just look at my goals sheet […]

Leave a Reply

