mysemiorganizedlife

Just another WordPress.com site

Quick and Easy Seasonal Decorations

on February 2, 2014

One of my favorite things to do since I was a little kid is to decorate for the holidays.  My brother and I decorated for pretty much any and every holiday–didn’t matter how big or small.  My mom kept boxes for each of us to use to decorate our rooms and around the house.  I love keeping this tradition going with my own daughter.  Of course we hit the big decorating holidays like Easter, Halloween, and Christmas, but I like to do a little something for some of the others too–like winter (which I know isn’t a holiday, but snowmen are so cute and we needed something for January!), Valentine’s, St. Patrick’s day, etc.  Here are a few ways to celebrate without going over board, and an easy craft to do with kids you can use as decoration too.

I started out decorating for mini-holidays last year by purchasing fun things to go on the door to our “guest” bath that my daughter and I both use to get ready in the mornings and before bed.  This year we added a few more elements to make it even more fun!

I really like the way the rustic wooden signs look.  I have a similar one for St. Pat's.

I really like the way the rustic wooden sign look. I have a similar one for St. Pat’s–and you can usually find things like this on sale at Michael’s or Hobby Lobby.

1)  We used to buy window clings and put them on the sliding glass door in our kitchen for all of the holidays–which is fun, but we have a ton of colder months where we live and those little guys don’t stick so well to cold windows.  Plus, we keep our vertical blinds closed a bunch of the time–which means we didn’t actually get to see them very often.  As an alternative, this past fall, we started getting the gel clings and affixing them to the mirror in the bathroom.  This way, we actually get to see them multiple times a day, and they add to the festive spirit.  We’ve already purchased ours for St. Pat’s and Easter–they had really cute ones at Gordman’s that were fairly inexpensive and we snapped them up.  Downside, we will have to buy new ones each year–which is not something I like to do–but they are not the easiest thing to store.  If anyone has a great tip or trick, let me know!

You can see the gel clings for our "winter" decorations on the mirror (snowmen and penguins ice skating.)  The snowman wall hanging we made last year out of a shoe box lid and some left over fabric, felt, buttons, etc.

You can see the gel clings for our “winter” decorations on the mirror (snowmen and ice skating penguins.) The snowman wall hanging near the towel is something we made last year out of a shoe box lid and some left over fabric, felt, buttons, etc.

3)  Looking for a super simple and cheap kids craft?  This has become one of my favorites.  I found these really cool simple wooden scroll shapes at Michael’s for pretty cheap–maybe $1.99 each before any coupons or discounts.  These are really easy to paint with acrylic paints, and we of course add glitter to make them even fancier.  The only part that is a pain is taking off the price sticker–because it leaves a little residue and probably some nicks from your nails scraping the paper off, so you can really only display one side of the shape.  Once the shapes are painted and glitter-fied, we just hang them from a little bit of ribbon or string in the same “guest” bathroom and can enjoy our minor holiday decorations all in one local.  This year the kiddo painted “frame” versions of these scroll shapes for family holiday gifts this year.

IMG_5863

This is the snowflake my daughter painted last year. Hers are always so colorful and beautiful. I love that she doesn’t worry about it being “perfect,” and just goes with what she thinks will be pretty.

IMG_5866

You can see our Valentine’s gel clings and the scroll hearts we painted this year. Now I just need to find a festive hand towel!

These are all of the frames she painted for gifts this year.  She chose the color scheme and painted each for members of our family.

These are all of the frames she painted for gifts this year. She chose the color scheme and painted each for members of our family.

Do you have any quick and easy decorating or craft tips for the holidays?

One response to “Quick and Easy Seasonal Decorations

  1. […] bathroom door for Easter.  Our guest bathroom that my daughter and I use for everyday gets lots of attention at the holidays, because we see it quite a bit.  I realized for the Easter season, we didn’t really have a […]

Leave a Reply

