mysemiorganizedlife

Just another WordPress.com site

2014 Goals Update

on March 16, 2014

Hello Everyone!

It is now March, and I thought it was high time I wrote about my progress on my 2014 goals.  One of the ways I hope to keep up on my goals this year is to do semi-frequent evaluations.  I had hoped to do this once a month, but I chose other fun stuff to blog about instead.  So, without further ado, here is how I am doing on my 2014 goals!  In case you missed the first post and are interested, you can read it here, or just look at my goals sheet below.

My 2014 Goals List!

My 2014 Goals List!

1)  Family–  Don’t plan or overschedule.  This is a tough one for me.  I looked at our March and April calendars, and every weekend, we have something going on both days.  To be fair, it is birthday season in my house (my mom’s, daughter’s, and my birthday all fall within about a week of each other) and we have tons of stuff planned.  And, there is Easter.  Plus, I have a few work commitments that cropped up and took a bit of my weekend time.  But, overall, the things we have planned fit in with our goals.  More family and friend time with focus on FUN!  Traditions–we are continuing our Friday night movie/pizza night.  We’ve even started sampling from the wide variety of pizza joints in our area which has been pretty fun.  And, I am definitely trying to be more present–which goes hand in hand with one of my personal goals of less technology.  But, it is difficult sometimes to not feel rushed and to not get frustrated when things don’t go the way I think they should–though I think I am improving a little.  Hopefully things will get calmer with time.

2)  Personal–  Just say “no” to technology.  You can read about my desire and plan to go “Hands Free”, but to give more of an update it is going ok.  There are times when I definitely need reminding to step away from the distractions, but there are also times when I forget to check in with the technology that seems to drive our lives these days.  I know I haven’t frantically looked for my phone multiple times a day like I used to, because it is no longer glued to my hand at all times–which I consider a win.  I have also realized that the more down time I have, the more I want to pick up the phone or sit in front of the computer just to see what’s happening.  So, I just need to do a better job of filling my time with meaningful pursuits.  And, I have continued reading for both work and for fun.  And, listening to audiobooks during my commute everyday has been a great way to get in extra reading that I may not have time for at night.  Sometimes I do have to remind myself that the books can be just as big of a distraction as the electronics–so everything in moderation.  I did also take another free online course–but I wasn’t as happy with it as the last one.  I just felt rushed through the whole thing and like it was more of a chore than a fun learning experience, so I think I’ll wait until summer to try my next one.  And, I am happy to say that I finally went to visit my friend who only lives a few hours away.  I told her one of my goals was to see her in person this year, and I did!  And, it was so amazing.  Our little girls had a good time together and it was wonderful to reconnect on a level you can only really do in person.  And, I have the next mommy date planned with my local gal pals for a jewelry making class.  Thank you to Groupon and Living Social for providing opportunities for us to do something fun on the cheap.

3)  Writing.  My writing goals have been a bit hit or miss.  My professional writing has been on hold as some other professional items have come into play and while I wait for some ideas to come to fruition before I can write about them.  I also wanted to have the novel I wrote for NaNoWriMo edited by April 1st.  I’m slowly getting there.  I have about 50 more pages to go on the first edit.  And, then I’ll need to do edit number 2.  We’ll see how far I get.  As for journaling, I have done a pretty good job with the journal I keep for my daughter, but I decided to drop the photo a day and one sentence journals.  It was just an added something I wasn’t really enjoying and felt more like work than play.  Maybe down the road I will try and pick it up again.  I think the photo a day thing this summer would actually be pretty fun.  Maybe kiddo and I can each take a photo a day of our summer vacation and compile an album at the end of the summer.  And, finally my blog!  I have posted faithfully every week (except for last week when I was on vacation visiting my pal) and plan to keep it up for as long as I have ideas.

4)  Organization–  I am going back and revisiting some past projects.  I’ve written about a few of those changes recently, and I plan to write about a few more as time goes by, because this organization thing is always a work in progress.  I am trying my best to maintain my organized areas and stick to our routines, and some days it is easier to do so than others.  Part of being “hands free” is to know when keeping things neat and organized needs to take a back seat to your family and friends–so there have been more times lately when the vacuuming doesn’t get done on schedule or the nightly pickup doesn’t happen for a few days.  So far no one has really noticed but me, and to be honest, it hasn’t bugged me as much as I thought it would.  My philosophy right now is that it will get done when it gets done.  Most of our main routines are still in place, and everything else can wait a day or two if needed.  I am still trying to tackle one larger project each month.  In January I tackled some unruly kitchen cabinets, in February we added some new storage to our living room, and I’ll hopefully have more news about March soon.

5)  Health–  This is my biggest problem area.  I have really struggled with this in the last few years.  I know what I need to do to be healthier, but my mind and body seem to rebel whenever I get the idea that changes need made.  Pretty much everything on my health list went out the window–either before or after I wrote my goals.  But, I am determined to be a healthier me.  I know this is important for my long term health and for my family.  I want to be the wife and mother my family deserves and needs–and that means taking the time to be healthier.  I hope to post some progress in this area soon!  I have a new way to track this goal and once I have had some time getting used to it, I’ll post an update.

6)  Professional–again not really interesting to anyone but me, but I am super excited about some changes and opportunities on the horizon.

And that’s about it.  I’m pretty much where I expected to be at this time of the year.  I knew there would be some goals I would be rocking and some that would have dropped off due to my over ambition–and some I really need to get after.  Hopefully when I post another update in a few months, I will have even more positive news on how I am doing with my goals and how they are influencing my life!

Leave a Reply

