mysemiorganizedlife

Just another WordPress.com site

Pinterest Project–Egg Wreath!

on March 23, 2014

I was looking all over the place for something fun to put on our bathroom door for Easter.  Our guest bathroom that my daughter and I use for everyday gets lots of attention at the holidays, because we see it quite a bit.  I realized for the Easter season, we didn’t really have a fun door hanger like we did for the other holidays.  I checked out my usual suspects, Hobby Lobby and Michaels and couldn’t find anything I wanted–and to be fair nothing was on sale yet so the cheap side of me said “no.”  Instead, I planned to use a sort of cute place mat until I found something I liked.  Seriously, I did.  It was held up by a ribbon safety pinned to the back and LOADS of green painter tape.

Not terribly, but not great either.

Not terrible, but not great either.

I was surfing Pinterest one night and ran across the idea of taking cheap plastic eggs and some plastic basket grass and turning it into something super cute. Of course I can’t find the original posting I saw and my pin didn’t save properly, but here are a few of the tutorials I used and their wreaths.

Wreath Example 1

Here are some of the ones I found...

Here are some of the ones I found…

I was grabbing some Kleenex to take to work from a local discount grocery store (allergy season, ugh!) and stumbled upon 18 ct plastic mini eggs for $1 and cute sparkly plastic bows, 2 for $1.  I grabbed 4 packages of eggs and blue bows and completely forgot Easter grass.  Instead, I bought some from Michaels at more than I should have spent–$1.50 per bag.  Kiddo thought it would be cool if the grass was more than one color, so we took pink, purple, and green and mixed them together.  The total amount I spent was $10.50 pre taxes.  You will also need quite a few glue sticks.  Mine were on hand (not figured into the cost), but I used every last one of the 10 or so mini sticks I had hanging around (more on that later).

I am going to warn anyone who wants to take on this project that it will take you longer than you anticipate (I figured 30 min tops).  It took a little more than an hour to make my two wreaths.

Step 1: (after buying supplies) Make a back for your wreath.  I read you needed a sturdy piece of cardboard to glue the eggs to, and luckily we still had this box hanging around from months ago in the garage waiting to be broken down for recycling.  It was so sturdy that it took quite a while for my super (Pampered Chef) kitchen scissors to cut through the cardboard (regular scissors would not have worked).  I recommend using an blade knife if you have one to save time.  With mini eggs, I knew my wreath needed to be small, which fit fine for the bathroom door.  As a template for my circles, I used a large dinner plate and a bowl.  This size turned out perfect.  I wish I would have measured more the inches around the circle.  One of mine turned out a little narrower at the top than the bottom, but once all the stuff got on it, you can’t even tell.

The box and my circle tools.

The box and my circle tools.

Step 2:  Glue on the eggs using hot glue.  You will need an inside and outside row of eggs for the base of the wreath.  Affix them so the wide ends touch.  I tried to line them up in pairs to begin with, and it just didn’t work.  I needed fewer eggs on the inside circle than on the outside, so I just did my outside circle first and my inside circle second.  I’ve seen where people do blocks of color together (all the pink eggs in a row next to all the yellow eggs in a row).  I wanted it to look more random, so I did a repeating pattern on the outside circle and for the inside just tried to make sure colors weren’t right opposite each other.  As far as how much glue, I put a small amount on the back of the egg and stuck it down.  If I had more glue sticks on hand, I would have gone heavier with the glue.  We’ll see how well everything holds over time.

Step 3:  Round 1 of Easter grass.  I took a hand full of each color grass and mixed them together on the floor (unless you feel like vacuuming when you are done, I recommend doing this on a table or a sweepable floor surface).  Then I took a little bit, rolled it into a ball in my hand, squired a little glue in between the “bums,” then shove in your Easter grass.  Some tutorials recommend using a pencil with unused eraser to do so–which will probably save your hands if you use the actual “HOT” glue.  I use the “cool” hot glue, but it still hurts like the dickens if you get it on your finger tips.  When the middles are done, do the same around the edges.  Then trim off any hairy bits you don’t like.  Some of the inspiration photos have much longer grass left on them than I do–pick what you think looks best.

IMG_0006

In progress pictures.  After Steps 1-3.

In progress pictures. After Steps 1-3.

Step 4:  Add the next layer of eggs.  Take single eggs and put them all cattywampus on the space in between the egg ends.  This gives a bit of depth to you wreath.  Add grass to any places that look like they have major gaps.  (The grass adding sections is what took the most time!).  Trim as needed.  Then, add your bow!  I am not a great bow maker, so I tend to find ones I like and buy them.  Luckily, they had these cute plastic bows on the cheap that worked perfectly!  Here is the final product!  You can also attach a hanger to the back if you need it.  My wreath just fit on the command hook that hangs out here for other seasonal decor.

All done!  Fits great on the bathroom door.

All done! Fits great on the bathroom door.

Wreath #2!  We’re not done yet!  It was my intention to make an exact copy of this wreath for my mom as a surprise, but, I needed way more eggs than I realized for the first one.  I had a hand full of mini eggs, tons of grass, an extra bow, a wreath cut out ready and waiting, and a limited glue supply.  Now what?  I took a bunch of the grass and started gluing it in great tufts to the cutout.  After filling in some blank spaces, I trimmed it down.  Then, I added the bow and 1 of each of the mini eggs around the form.  I think it turned out much better than I anticipated, and I hope my mom likes it!  If you end up with extra supplies at the end of your wreath making project–here’s a way to put them to good use.

Wreath #2!

Wreath #2!

Step # 5:  VACUUM!  Seriously consider doing this somewhere other than carpet.  The static electricity made grass stick to our clothes and hands, so even the big pieces were a pain to clean up.

I am so glad these turned out well!  I wouldn’t say I had “fun” making them, but it was a fun challenge to tackle with a great end result.

p.s.  Random tip.  If you are almost finished with a project (say with 3 mini eggs to glue to a wreath), and your last glue stick is so far in the machine that you need another to push it through, but you’re completely out…don’t freak.  Take a pencil and put it eraser end into the glue gun.  Use it to push the glue out.  But, be careful.  It heats up the eraser and metal doohicky that holds the eraser on and covers them in glue.  This is only in case of emergency.  🙂

Are there any cute DIY holiday projects you have tackled this year?  Any Pinterest wins to brag about?

Creativity Unleashed link party!

2 responses to “Pinterest Project–Egg Wreath!

Leave a Reply

