mysemiorganizedlife

Just another WordPress.com site

Homemade Large Dice

on August 10, 2014

I am one of the leaders for my daughter’s girl scout troop–and we are headed into our second year of Daisy scouts.  I learned quite a bit last year about running meetings and working with younger kids (most of my experience is with high schoolers).  One thing I know is that we needed to get the girls into more of a routine and also up and moving.  We meet right after school, so they need to shake their wiggles out a bit before settling back down.

So, in addition to a caper chart and meeting schedule (which will be an all in one sort of thing–I’m still working on that), I wanted to design some activity dice to use at the beginning of meetings.  My vision was for two different dice–one with song names on it and one with an action related activity.  One of the caper chart chores (for those of you who have never heard of a caper chart–it is basically a way to assign tasks to the girls for the running of the meeting) would be for one girl to roll the song dice and one to roll the action dice–then lead the song or action.  These would help us get our meetings going and give the girls something to actively do.  (I also freely admit I stole this idea from our wonderful former children’s librarian for how she started storytimes).

Now the question was, how to make the dice?  I wanted something easily portable that I could customize and would be fairly cheap to make.  Off I went to search Pinterest for suggestions.  I found many good ideas that included paper mache or  foam cubes or cardboard boxes.  I checked out my local Michael’s and at first could only find wooden blocks (to heavy) and florist Styrofoam (both white and green).  But, each dice would cost me at least $5 each (minus the 40% discount for one)–too pricey.  One of the pins I saw showed how someone used a gold foil gift box shaped like a cube to make her dice (she covered it in craft paper).

The supplies I used to make our dice.

The supplies I used to make our dice.

As a last ditch effort, I searched the small gift bag area, and after a few minutes of scouring I saw tucked low in a corner, small cube shaped gift boxes!  Hooray!  I found a size I liked–4 inch square.  They had both larger and smaller, but I thought this would be small enough to be portable and big enough to be fun.  I picked the craft paper type box, because I thought it would be easier to write on than the slick white option they also offered.  Then, on the way to the cash register, I passed a little shelving area with $1 stationary items and found little 3 inch square cards in solid colors.  On a whim, I grabbed those to put on the sides to give the dice a little color.

The finished product.

The finished product.

Yesterday, I put it all together.  I simply taped the open edges of the boxes down (I could have used a more transparent tape, but I had this on hand.  I don’t think they’ll care).  Then, I cut the little cards in half.  Luckily each side was colored, so I could get two sides out of one card.  I wrote the names of the songs and actions on the cards with a thin sharpie marker.  Next, I rolled pieces of tape for all four corners of a card and stuck it to one side of the cube.  I figured this way we could change the songs or actions fairly easily part way through the year or next year if we wanted without destroying the dice.

These was so super simple, and the best part was it was really inexpensive.  The boxes were $0.79 each and the card packs were $1 each.  And, I only used part of each pack, so I have cards left over for another occasion.  Each of the dice only cost about $1.25!  I am very happy with the result, and I think this will be a fun way for the girls to begin their meetings this year.

Here’s a list of what I included on each one–chosen with input from the kiddo:

Songs:

5 little speckled frogs

Down by the Bay

Make New Friends, But Keep the Old (Girl Scout Song)

I’ve Got Something in my Pocket (Girl Scout Song)

Magalina Hagalina (a song I learned as a Girl Scout.  Very silly.  My daughter loves it!)

Roller’s Choice (just to mix it up, because I wasn’t going to put Let it Go as an option).

 

Actions (some of these are songs, but they are action-y songs!).

Hokey Pokey

Head Shoulders Knees & Toes

Dance (to a song on my phone)

Jumping Jacks, Jump Rope, High Knees (for a little cardio)

Bean Bag Game (I have some home made bean bags and we can play a variety of games with them)

Roller’s Choice

 

How do you think you could use homemade dice in your life?  I can image a bunch of different ways.  Since you can design the sides however you would like, the possibilities are endless!

Leave a Reply

