mysemiorganizedlife

Just another WordPress.com site

Audiobook Awesomeness!

on October 5, 2014

I have a daily commute that isn’t long by BIG city standards, but it is longer than I have had in the past (about 30 minutes each way). And, I also spend quite a chunk of time driving around town making visits as part of my job. This adds up to quite a bit of time in the car. What this has made me aware of is how much I do not like broadcast radio. And it’s for the same reason I’m not a big fan of broadcast television–the commercials! I completely appreciate why commercials are there, but I don’t really want to listen to them.  So, what’s a girl to do?

I could stream Pandora, but that would eat up my data. I could load music onto my iPhone, but I haven’t figured out how to do that yet (and I’ve had an iPod or iPhone for a large number of years). I could travel with a book of cds and jam out to my favorites from when I actually bought discs. (I did start doing this in the last week so my kiddo and I could listen to music together. Radio ads sometimes are not very kid friendly!) None of these are very appealing to me for my work hours, though.  (Total first world problem, I know).

What I have found that I absolutely love is audiobooks. The bookworm should listen to books–duh!  A few years ago, I discovered audio books. I started out borrowing books on CD from our public library–mostly fiction titles. I’d keep the large case of discs in the side pocket of my car and switch them out as needed. While fun, the options offered were limited. Then, I discovered Overdrive. Our public library has an Overdrive account, and with my library card, I can borrow an even wider selection of audiobooks! The best part–it was super simple. (Their website gives great tips on how to set this up or ask you public librarian). And the best part is that the audiobooks connect to the bluetooth in my car, and I can listen to audiobooks through the car’s speakers. I’ve sort of gotten off my fiction kick for now and have been enjoying some non-fiction titles.  Many of the books I listen to have to deal with the concepts of happiness, work/life balance, organizing, and all the things I write about on my blog. Here’s a few of my favorites from the last several months.

All of the books mentioned below are also available in print form if that is your preference!

Happier at Home by Gretchen Rubin

Happier At Home

I just finished  listening to this book from the author of The Happiness Project (one of my favorite books!). I had the paper copy and was about part way through (a few years ago) and got too busy at the time to finish (then or since). I am so glad the audiobook version was available so I could enjoy it again and finally finish it.  What I love about her writing style is that she doesn’t force her ideas or opinions on you. She clearly says, this is what works for me, here’s what research/history tells us, now go out and figure out what works for you. I think I also really like that she sets manageable goals that revolve around a monthly theme. The organizer in me appreciates that.  And, she doesn’t pull any punches.  She explains how she sabotages herself and what she knows are not the best parts of her that she is trying to change.  A very honest and thoughtful look at to the nature of happiness.

168 Hours: You Have More Time Than You Think by Laura Vanderkam

168 Hours: You Have More Time Than You Think

This book was really interesting.  There are 168 hours in each week–and it focuses on how to make the most out of those hours by focusing on your core competencies (or the things that matter most to you).  If they aren’t part of your core competencies, then you don’t do it.  One suggestion she had was to keep track of how you spent your 168 hours and see where you were really spending your time.  That might be helpful, but the thought of doing so overwhelms me because my schedule during the day is so scattered.  While I’m not sure if I agreed with everything in here, I certainly gained some valuable insight into how we plan and maintain our schedules.  (This book is mentioned in both The Happiness Project above and Say Goodbye to Survival Mode below!)

Making Habits, Breaking Habits:  Why We Do Things, Why We Don’t, and How to Make Any Change Stick  by Jeremy Dean

Making Habits, Breaking Habits: Why We Do Things, Why We Don't, and How to Make Any Change Stick

 

This book provided some really interesting ideas about habits.  He starts out by explaining how 21 day rule is a myth.  In many books and programs, they explain how you can change or add a behavior if you stick with it for a magical 21 day period.  The origin of the 21 day myth is very interesting, and that’s only the first few chapters.  He explains many studies that have been done over the years in relation to habits, and how they can help us learn how to wire our brains in such a way that we accept a new habit more easily.  This is one I think I may have to go back and either read the paper version or listen to the audiobook again to really get everything out of it.

Lean In: Women, Work, and the Will to Lead by Sheryl Sandberg

Lean In: Women, Work, and the Will to Lead

Just to give you a heads up, Sheryl Sandberg is the COO (Chief Operating Officer) at Facebook.  This was a really interesting book to listen to.  It focused more on the role of women in leadership positions, but it also really talked about how work life balance is not really the right term for things, because there is no way to really have a balance of both.  I also found her personal history and insights quite fascinating–and would recommend the read just based on her history of being on the ground floor of both Google and Facebook.  I also really loved her idea to call herself, instead of working mom, a career loving mom.  The negative connotation is taken away with this term in her mind, and I agree.  I love my career and I love being a mom.  Very interesting read.

Say Goodbye to Survival Mode by Crystal Paine

Say Goodbye to Survival Mode: 9 Simple Strategies to Stress Less, Sleep More, and Restore Your Passion for Life

I recently started following Money Saving Mom on Facebook, and I was surprised to find out that one of the audiobooks from my public library was written by this blogger, so I gave it a shot.  Survival mode is that harried, craziness that I think I’ve been living in the past month, so listening to this book the last few weeks hit at the right time.  She gives some good tips in here and again talks about that work/life balance.  She even mentions the book 168 Hours in one of the chapters!  The book was interesting enough to keep me listening, but I’m not sure if I would have made it through the print version.  P.S.  The book is narrated by the author, which I think gives it a more genuine feel.

An Invisible Thread by Laura Schroff

An Invisible Thread: The True Story of an 11-Year-Old Panhandler, a Busy Sales Executive, and an Unlikely Meeting with Destiny

This book gives us a glimpse into what the world would be like if we all took a moment to help one person in need–and to see how that one act can change both the giver and the recipient.  Laura almost didn’t stop to give money to an 11 year old panhandler named Maurice.  In fact, she walked right past him.  But, she stopped, turned, and decided to buy him lunch at McDonald’s.  That one act led to years of friendship and mentorship–on both sides.  Hearing their story of friendship and both of the back stories that led them there was riveting.  I was so enthralled that I spent almost an entire day listening to their story.  I highly recommend this one.

Cover Images from http://www.barnesandnoble.com

Have you read or listened to anything lately that stuck with you?

 

Leave a Reply

