mysemiorganizedlife

Just another WordPress.com site

Nerds: Not Just a Sweet Candy

on October 12, 2014

One day  a few years ago, my daughter asked me what a nerd was.  I smiled, because I knew she hadn’t heard this term on the playground.  She hadn’t seen it on a tv show where someone was making fun of someone else.  She saw it on one of our favorite YouTube channels.  My reply, “Nerds are people like us, sweetie.”  And, I said it with a smile.

I then gave her a shortened version of the quote from John Green (above).  I explained that nerds are people that really like something and are excited about it–like we are with books, or video games, or movies, or… and the list went on.  I explained that her mom and dad were nerds and said it with pride (her dad’s a bit of a geek too, but that’s something else entirely.)

P.S.  I have this poster hanging in my office at work and absolutely love it.  You can get your own by visiting his online store–DFTBA which stands for Don’t Forget to Be Awesome (another poster I have hanging in my office at home).  I was totally a Nerdfighter way before John Green was a household name.  I tried to get his books in kids hands as much as I possibly could–so I guess I was a John Green fan from way back.  (He’s  the author of The Fault in Our Stars in case you are confused).

I am so happy to be able to embrace my nerdiness and I am even more glad that my daughter is growing up in a world where there are groups of people like the Nerdfighters, tv shows like The Big Bang Theory, and books like The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth.  For most of my life, I have had typical nerdy tendencies–nose always in a book, could quote endless information about movies, that kind of thing.  And, while I embraced it all through my teen and young adult years, I definitely did not grow up in the culture my daughter will.  One where nerds are celebrated, embraced, and part of the popular culture.

Thanks to social media and YouTube, you can express your love and enthusiasm for all the things once considered “nerdy” and be embraced whole heartedly.  Don’t believe me?  Look at the number of subscribers for any of these YouTube folks:  The VlogBrothers (Hank and John Green–he’s way more than a YA author.  Check out the Art Assignment and Crash Course to get a taste).  Yogscast (these guys hilariously play video games and narrate their experiences–some swearing at times so be forewarned.)  Rosanna Pansino (our favorite!).  She hosts a “show” called Nerdy Nummies (the one that started the conversation mentioned above with my daughter) and makes baking creations based off of “nerdy” pop culture like Star Wars, Frozen, Guardians of the Galaxy, Pokemon, Mario Bros. etc.  If you or someone you love is a nerd and loves to bake or eat, check her out.  Last night, we stumbled upon Lindsey Stirling.  She makes these crazy videos of her playing the violin and dancing to some really cool music–like Star Wards, Zelda video games, Mission Impossible, Assassin’s Creed, and much more.  She also does covers of popular songs like Radioactive and Thrift Shop.  She outright called herself a nerd after one of the videos.  Woohoo!  And for a little bit of science, check out The Slo Mo Guys from Britain.  They conduct crazy experiments and film them in slow motion.  Super fun!

In the past people like Rosanna and Lindsey probably wouldn’t have been able to make a living doing what they love and celebrating their nerdy side.  But, with millions of subscribers and views on YouTube, now they can.  I cannot wait to see what comes next from people who are passionate about what they love–and how they choose to express themselves.  And, I can’t wait for my daughter to continue to see that it is ok to be excited about something that makes you happy and that it is perfectly wonderful to embrace your creativity.  Who knows?  Maybe she’ll make a living off of it someday…  And maybe she’ll just really enjoy and embrace life.  I’m pretty ok with that too.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

